

BILL RICHARDSON Governor

DIANE DENISH Lieutenant Governor

NEW MEXICO ENVIRONMENT DEPARTMENT

Hazardous Waste Bureau

2905 Rodeo Park Drive East, Building 1 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505-6303 Phone (505) 476-6000 Fax (505) 476-6030 www.nmenv.state.nm.us



RON CURRY Secretary

JON GOLDSTEIN Deputy Secretary

CERTIFIED MAIL - RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED

January 22, 2009

Mark Patterson Ravenna Army Ammunition Plant Building 1037 8451 State Route 5 Ravenna, OH 44266 Steve Smith CESWF-PER-DD 819 Taylor Street, Room 3A12 PO Box 17300 Fort Worth, TX 76102-0300

RE: APPROVAL WITH DIRECTION RELEASE ASSESSMENT REPORT FOR PARCEL 22 FORT WINGATE DEPOT ACTIVITY EPA ID# NM6213820974 FWDA-07-010

Dear Messrs. Patterson and Smith:

The New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) received the Department of the Army's (the Permittee) *Release Assessment Report for Parcel 22* (the Report), dated June 9, 2008. The submittal is a requirement of Section VII.F of the *Fort Wingate Depot Activity RCRA Permit* (*RCRA Permit*). NMED hereby approves this Report with the following direction.

NMED received the Permittee's RCRA Facility Investigation (RFI) Work Plan for Parcel 22 (Work Plan), dated June 9, 2008, which is currently under review. The Areas of Concern (AOCs) 30, 69, 75, and 88 included in the Report must be addressed and characterized in detail in the revised Work Plan. Additional requirements for the Work Plan will be addressed in NMED's comments for Parcel 22 which will be mailed under separate cover.

In addition, NMED understands that AOC 71 will be addressed as part of the investigation for Parcel 21 (refer to Comment 77 of NMED's NOD for the Parcel 21 RFI Work Plan, dated September 5, 2007) and therefore does not need to be included as part of the Parcel 22 investigation.

Messrs. Patterson and Smith January 22, 2009 Page 2

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Tammy Diaz-Martinez at (505) 476-6056.

Sincerely,

どん John E. Kieling

Manager Permits Management Program Hazardous Waste Bureau

- cc: Tammy Diaz-Martinez, NMED HWB Dave Cobrain, NMED HWB Laurie King, U.S EPA Region 6 Chuck Hendrickson, U.S. EPA Region 6 Sharlene Begay-Platero, Navajo Nation Eugenia Quintana, Navajo Nation Steve Beran, Zuni Pueblo Edward Wemytewa, Zuni Pueblo Valerie Lahalla, Zuni Pueblo Steven Davis, Zuni BIA Clayton Seoutewa, Southwest Region BIA Charles Long, Navajo Nation Rose Duwyenie, Navajo BIA
 - File: FWDA 2009 & Reading File FWDA-07-010